Evelyn Waugh (‘Wu’) to Diana ‘Darling Baby’ Cooper: ‘Oh, dear, you will think me insane or possessed by devils.’

Published December 22, 2010 by goyodelarosa

DIANA ‘DARLING BABY’ COOPER BY MAN RAY

 

Evelyn to Diana

Grand Hotel Nuwaraeliya, Ceylon

18 February 1954

 

Darling Baby

Ink? 

The first letter you have ever written to me with a pen.

A very sweet letter too.

I can’t write with the tenderness I feel for a very odd reason.

There is a group of psychologists a thousand miles away

who read every word I write over my shoulder.

As I write this I can hear their odious voices repeating it word for word.

You will think  I have finally gone out of my mind

and am suffering the wildest aberrations of persecution mania,

but this is the strict truth.

I fell victim to them on board ship when I was ill and full of drugs.

It began with an elaborate series of practical jokes during which I was convinced I was insane.

My sufferings were exquisite but now I know that it is merely a trick of telepathy.

I will tell you the whole saga when we meet.

I can’t say in the presence of these eavesdroppers how much my heart and prayers are yours.

They break into cackles of laughter at any expression of that kind.

I wish I could come to Athens with you but I am slinking home at once.

This trip has been a most painful failure.

Ceylon is lovely but densely crowded –

 film companies and international congresses filling every hotel and rest-house

and I am very lonely and low spirited so I should be poor company.

Well that’s rather silly because of course if we were together I shouldn’t be lonely, should I?

Oh, dear, you will think me insane or possessed by devils.

Perhaps you have something there.

Darling Baby I will write again when these fearful voices are silent.

All my love

Bo

 

MR WU & MRS STITCH

THE LETTERS OF EVELYN WAUGH & DIANA COOPER

EDITED BY ARTEMIS COOPER

 

Greater Victoria Public Library

 

EVELYN WAUTH, AGE 26 BY HENRY LAMB

 

Leave a Reply

